About The Kansas Lottery

In November of 1986, 64 percent of Kansas voters approved a constitutional amendment authorizing the creation of a state lottery. The Kansas Legislature passed the "Kansas Lottery Act" in 1987, and the Kansas Lottery was established. The mission of the Kansas Lottery is to produce the maximum amount of revenue possible for the State of Kansas while ensuring the integrity of all games.

The Kansas Lottery sells $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, and $30 instant scratch tickets and $1 and $2 instant pull tab games. In addition, Kansas Lottery players enjoy Powerball, Mega Millions, Lotto America, Lucky for Life, Super Kansas Cash, Pick 3, 2by2, Keno and Racetrax draw games. Kansas Lottery products are sold at approximately 1,710 retail locations.

To the left you will find links to a timeline of significant events in the history of the Lottery as well a listing of yearly sales, prize payouts and transfers to the state in addition to other information about the Kansas Lottery.

The Kansas Lottery is headed by an Executive Director who is appointed by the governor.

Photo of Stephen Durrell
Stephen Durrell, Kansas Lottery Interim Executive Director

Site Map