Kansas Lottery Commission

The Kansas Lottery Commission holds monthly meetings at lottery headquarters in Topeka. The five commissioners are appointed by the governor to serve alternating four-year terms. The commission consults with and advises the Executive Director in establishing policy, approving major contracts, rules and regulations for lottery games and promotions, and approving the annual budget.

Kansas Lottery Commission Meeting Information

James Washington, Basehor
Confirmed Sept. 3, 2013; Term Expires March 15, 2020

Commissioner James Washington of Basehor is currently employed as an Army contractor with Northrup Grumman Technical Services. He is a 30-year veteran of the Kansas Army National Guard and a retired Lieutenant Colonel. Washington has also held several marketing, manufacturing and management roles in the private sector; and has served on the city planning commission in Basehor, as well as the city council. He has been married to wife Carol for more than 40 years. They have four children and eight grandchildren. He was appointed Lottery Commissioner in 2013 and reappointed in 2016 by Governor Sam Brownback.

Alana Roethle, Leawood
Confirmed September 2, 2015; Term Expires March 15, 2019

Commissioner Alana Roethle is a healthcare marketing consultant with Roethle Consulting in the Kansas City area.  Since 2010, she has worked with hospitals, clinics and healthcare groups to develop and execute strategic marketing plans.  Alana has experience in many business specialties, including operations, information technology and business development. Prior to moving to Kansas in 2010, Alana was employed by Methodist Hospital System in Houston, Texas. She received a Bachelor's degree from Florida State University and a Master's in Business Administration from the University of Minnesota.  She resides in Leawood with her husband, Dr. Scott Roethle, and their four children. She was appointed to the Commission in 2015 by Governor Sam Brownback.

Catherine Moyer, Ulysses, COMMISSION CHAIR
Confirmed March 15, 2015; Term Expires March 15, 2019

Commissioner Catherine Moyer is the General Manager and CEO for Pioneer Communications, a telephone and communications company that serves residents and businesses across southwestern Kansas.  She is the immediate past chairman and currently serves on the board of directors of the Organization for the Promotion and Advancement of Small Telecommunications Companies (OPASTCO), a national trade association.  She also serves on the CoBank, ACB, board of directors, and is on the Telcom Insurance Group board of directors. Catherine holds a bachelor's degree from Middlebury College and a law degree from Washburn University.  She resides in Ulysses with her husband, Kevin. She was appointed to the Commission in 2011 by Governor Sam Brownback and reappointed by Governor Brownback in 2015.

Tom Roberts, Kansas City, Kan.
Confirmed June 1, 2011; Term Expires March 15, 2017

Commissioner Tom G. Roberts of Kansas City, Kan., retired as the Clerk of the Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kan., after more than 34 years in local government. He received his undergraduate and master's degrees from Wichita State University. He is past president of the City Clerks and Municipal Finance Officers Association of Kansas, as well as the 10,000-member International Institute of Municipal Clerks. Roberts was appointed to the Kansas Lottery Commission in 2011 by Governor Sam Brownback and reappointed in 2013.



Kansas Lottery Commission Tentative Meeting Dates 2019
Date Time
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 1:30 p.m. - In Person
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 1:30 p.m. 
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 1:30 p.m. - In Person
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 1:30 p.m. - In Person
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 4:00 p.m. - In Person



Copies of the meeting agendas or minutes are available by emailing the Executive Secretary Ty Overstreet with your request, or by calling Ty Overstreet at 785-296-5703.